Set in splendid grounds beside Hampstead Heath, this outstanding neoclassical house holds one of the most important collections of paintings ever given to the nation. Works by Rembrandt, Vermeer, Turner, Reynolds and Gainsborough all hang against a backdrop of sumptuous rooms.The house also contains paintings from the Suffolk Collection, with magnificent full-length portraits by William Larkin and Royal Stuart images by Van Dyck and Lely.
The house was remodelled by Robert Adam from 1764 to 1779, when he transformed the original brick building into a majestic villa for the great judge, Lord Mansfield. The richly decorated library is one of his masterpieces and a feast for the eyes.
Later Earls of Mansfield redesigned the parkland and Kenwood remained in the family until 1925. When developers tried to buy the estate, the house and grounds were saved by a brewing magnate, the first Earl of Iveagh. In 1927, when the Earl died, he bequeathed the Kenwood Estate and part of his collection of pictures to the nation.
Take time to enjoy the tranquillity of Kenwood. As well as visiting the house, relax in the extensive lakeside gardens or explore the meandering pathways and woodland, featuring sculptures by Henry Moore and Barbara Hepworth.
London Kenwood House Audio Guide Comments and Ratings
|There are no user comments for this guide. To rate this guide you need to log-in or register with AudioGuide2Go.|